top of page
  • Danny Crown

I think that the most productive exercise I did in this class was the mini-ethnography. While I may be biased because I love cultural anthropology and ethnography, I really do feel like I learned a lot from the experience as a whole. I got to look at a discipline/field that I had not previously paid any attention to. I watched the interview with an open mind and was positively surprised. In doing this I was able to dust off and use some of the lessons I had learned in cultural anthropology classes.

From the interview and voice lesson, I gained an appreciation for opera. I had not previously cared about opera in any way shape or form. Since doing exercise I came to realize I actually found the field/practice very interesting. I enjoyed being able to do research on the subject for the written piece and learn something totally new. The mini-ethnography taught me a valuable lesson. I learned that there were still things I had not explored that I could find very interesting or become passionate about, which continues to inspire me to explore.

bottom of page